Waiting for February

Screen Shot 2016-01-29 at 10.30.01 AM

[Update 1/29/16: Amazon has put the price back to $15.99. I have no idea what’s going on.]

Amazon has dropped the price of paperback copies of The Alchemist’s Theorem to $9.63. It could be because they are trying to move the inventory. The government taxes any books that are stored in warehouses, so it’s good business to move such a product rather than hold onto it. Or it could be the much more preferred reason: the fact that they lowered the price rather than return them could mean that there is still demand, but there is more third party activity than Amazon direct purchases. So they are digging into the competition. Fingers crossed it is the latter.

Sales have slowed down a bit, but I am eagerly anticipating February. I predict sales will pick up speed the further we get into what my mother calls the worst month of the year (because of the winter blues). Kirkus has selected my review to published in their February issue. Only 10% of their indie reviews get selected (35 all together). This will be great exposure. Also, one of the largest Harry Potter fansites is reviewing my book for their blog. That will be direct exposure to my audience. Bloggers in the Middle Grade Mania sphere have picked up my novel for review as well. Plus, I’ll be trying more paid advertising.

So February, typically the worst month of the year, should turn out to be actually a great month. There’s always lots of work to do, and I have plenty more ahead of me, but as long as things are moving forward I am happy to keep at it. I’m also making progress on the second book. I’ve finished the first draft of the first chapter, and I have moved on to the second. And that’s all I will say about that.

Leave a Reply

