My Inner Alchemist #4: Toothpaste

Coconut-Oil-for-Preppers

I make my own toothpaste with three ingredients: coconut oil, baking soda, and a few drops of clove or cinnamon oil. Why don’t I use store-brand toothpaste? Because my teeth are incredibly sensitive, and these days everything in the store has some kind of whitening agent in it, even the stuff for sensitive teeth, and that crap makes my teeth even more sensitive. Because of my Crohn’s disease and all of the immunosuppressants I was on a few years ago, I had a lot of cavities that were drilled, hence the increased sensitivity. So I need to take care of my teeth so I don’t experience any more decay, but I also need to be able to eat and drink without experiencing searing pain.

My homemade toothpaste totally does the job. Coconut oil is one of those all-purpose items that is becoming more and more popular. Studies have shown that the fatty acids in coconut oil do all sorts of good things for your health. The big important thing is that it is an excellent antimicrobial. It’s good at killing the little critters in my mouth that are trying to decay my teeth.

We’ve known for a long time that baking soda is good at removing plaque from our teeth, it just tastes gross. But mixing it with the coconut oil helps reduce the grossness, and it didn’t take me long to get used to it. I highly recommend mixing the coconut oil with baking soda when it’s in a solid state. If the oil is melted the baking soda will sink to the bottom, and you will be brushing with mostly oil at first.

I also add a few drops of clove or cinnamon oil to my homemade toothpaste. Both are good at killing little mouth critters that cause plaque build up. Apparently cinnamon oil is more effective than clove oil. You have to be careful with these oils, though. Be sure to mix them with the toothpaste and don’t put them directly in your mouth. In concentrated forms, they can burn and damage your skin.

You may think I sound like a crazy hippy doing magic, but all of the links I provided are NIH studies. So go read your science. And take care of your mouth.

Leave a Reply

