Our Halloween Commitment

emp_dabooth_color-1320

Last year, Brooks and I were too clever for our own good. When it came time to figure out costumes for our first Halloween together, we decided to be Edgar Allen Poe and The Raven. As you can see from the picture above, it was brilliant. We got a lot of compliments at EMP’s Undead Bash.

The problem is, this year we felt we had to one-up ourselves. At EMP’s Undead Prom Bash, we managed to keep to our standards. When Brooks and I brainstormed, I brought up H.P. Lovecraft, and a lightbulb immediately went on above his head. This year we were the Re-animator and his zombie cat Rufus. You can see our costumes in the picture below. Again, we got lots of compliments at the party. Brooks was super clever and put glow sticks inside a syringe.

dabooth.org-5367

The EMP Undead Bash is always a lot of fun. There are games, music, drinks and LOTS of great costumes. Brooks got me to dance with him, which is a pretty big deal. I stopped dancing in my late twenties. I’m not exactly sure why, but it’s some kind of hangup. Brooks didn’t even ask, he just grabbed my hand and pulled me onto the dance floor. I was totally sober and I had such a great time. He’s a good dancer.

I’m sure next year we will feel the need to one-up ourselves again. Hopefully it results in another great costume set, and not us crying in avant-garde clown outfits.

Leave a Reply

