Other Work

IMG_0250

I have been so focused on my Kickstarter the past couple of months that I forgot about the other writings I have besides The Alchemist’s Theorem. Twitter reminded me of this yesterday. A literary magazine that publishes short science fiction started following me. This is the kind of thing that Twitter is useful for if you can sort through all the noise. The magazine is called One Throne, and after I looked through the site I decided that I had a short story to submit to them.

I wrote this story at the beginning of the year as well as a few more. I’m trying to write a larger story in a series of short stories, but I have work to do. Right now it looks as though I started another novel, but I’m determined to make this work as a series of short stories. The first one, the one I submitted, stands on its own. I was inspired by a short story Brooks wrote that is being published in Asimov’s October/November issue. It is incredibly short, but there is so much story in so few words. It’s brilliant.

So that’s what I tried to do, tell a lot of story in less than 2,000 words. I’ll have to wait and see what they think of it. The story may need more work. I had submitted it to a contest and it was rejected. I still think it is a good story, regardless of the judges subjective opinion, but I’m not above admitting that it needs more work.

I’m not in a hurry to get these stories published, and I actually plan on publishing them digitally in chunks on Amazon, so if it gets rejected I will happily take another look at it and see what I can do. But the exercise is good for me. Getting more of my writing into peoples’ hands, and finding out what they think, is important to growing as a writer.

If they accept it I will be sure to post the link here once the story is up.

Leave a Reply

