Outreach & the Self-Publishing Stigma

outreach-hands-ss-1920-800x450

I’ve been doing a lot of outreach for my Kickstarter this past week. Some of it is fun, like messaging back and forth with friends, family and acquaintances. Getting in touch with everyone has been very fulfilling. I get caught up on how my loved ones are doing and all the great things that are going on in their lives. And their support and enthusiasm for my project is heartwarming and motivating.

Some of the outreach can be grueling, like writing carefully crafted email after carefully crafted email and sending them out to people I don’t know. And these people aren’t just anyone. I have to do search after search, trying to find individuals who may actually be interested in my project. It’s very rewarding when I hear back from someone, though it’s about one in every fifty. When a stranger shows a genuine interest in my work I think I actually glow in the dark, I feel so lit up inside.

The part of outreach that is down right frustrating is the stigma that comes with self-publishing. Because there are a lot of people out there writing generic, empty stories in a rather sloppy, unpolished manner, and then spamming everyone and their mother, it makes it a lot harder for other self-published writers to get their foot in the door.

I’ve come across a number of blogs and websites that are into novels like mine, but in their submission guidelines or contact forms they specifically state that no self-published work is accepted. This always gets me in a huff because I don’t get the chance to tell them about my novel and all the hard work we’ve put into making sure it is indistinguishable from traditionally published books.

The good news is that there are still a number of blogs and sites that do accept self-published work. I’ve been pounding the virtual pavement and reaching out to the ones I think will enjoy my book. I have already heard back from one blogger and I was thoroughly delighted by her interest and enthusiasm. I glowed for the entire day.

Onward!

Leave a Reply

