Kickstarter Is Like Christmas

Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 11.31.57 AM

My Kickstarter!

Brooks and I were up late last night. We were toiling away at the manuscript, making all the final adjustments and exporting the files so we can get proofs printed. Also, we launched the Kickstarter campaign for The Alchemist’s Theorem at midnight! We were definitely a little cranky, but also excited. Over-stimulated, really.

Last night felt very much like Christmas eve back when I was a kid. I was up past my bedtime, couldn’t fall asleep once I did go to bed, tossed and turned with excitement for hours, never really hit REM, and then woke up super early. I woke up before Brooks! That never happens.

When I did wake up, I looked at my phone with one blurry eye and needed a few minutes to understand that my project had already received over $1900! I honestly didn’t understand. I thought I was looking at the wrong page.

I love my family and my friends. I worried in the beginning, when I thought about getting in touch with everyone and asking them to help support me. I thought everyone would find me annoying. That hasn’t been the case at all. Not only is everyone really supportive, I’ve thoroughly enjoyed getting in touch with them all. I’ve been communicating a ton with the people I care about and it has been so good for my health!

Now that it looks like I might get funded in the first day, I need to work hard towards busting past my goal amount and giving my book an even better head start in the market. Wish me luck!

 

Leave a Reply

