Getting To Know Felda

ToMountains2

In The Alchemist’s Theorem, there is a character named Felda. She is a young lady of color, an apprentice at the school of alchemy, a friend of Mendel’s, and a guide to the Blackened Ash Mountains. Other than the characteristics I just laid out, I don’t know much else about her.

This is a problem I need to solve. I know she is important to the story, and that she is full of personality like all of the other characters, but I haven’t been able to show it. I don’t want Felda to be a token character in the story. So I have a lot of thinking to do.

Brooks and I were talking about this. He gave me some good questions to ask about Felda, like: what does she want, and what conflict is she struggling with? These simple questions are a good start. I still haven’t figured out the answers, but now I am taking a closer look at the character.

I want readers to be able to empathize and connect with her as though she were real. So I have work to do. Fun work. I’m excited to get to know Felda better, and to show how awesome she is to readers.

Leave a Reply

